Kitselas’ Timeline to Treaty

Posted on May 5, 2021

The draft Treaty (Final Agreement) has 29 chapters. Chapters are a good way to negotiate a Treaty, but difficult to explain it.

The Treaty is made up of five main parts. Each of the five main parts will be focused on for two-three months, starting with Lands.

  1. Lands – The land and resources we will own
  2. Self-Government – How we as a people will govern our lands and our people
  3. Finances – How we will pay for our government and provide services for our people
  4. Treaty and Aboriginal Rights – How we will keep and practice our historical and current aboriginal rights
  5. Canada, BC and Local Government – How we will be equal with and work with our neighbours

Ask a Question